Welcome to the gulch, Brad and Wendy…

March 17, 2008 at 8:12 am 3 comments

Brad of McBlog fame has penned a thoughtful little piece on living the “Frugalista Gulch” lifestyle – right where you are, in his case. Woohoo to you both, and welcome to the Outlaw crew!

When Wendy mentioned to me her “motivation #2” for the frugal philosophy — resisting the state — the first thing that popped into my mind was “Galt’s Gulch.” Because what we are doing is very similar to what John Galt and his fellows did when they went “on strike” and withdrew to Galt’s Gulch. We are denying the State and its army of leeches, not the product of our minds as such, but rather our productivity.

And Brad’s conclusion is right on…there are going to be thousands of “Frugalista Gulches.” Perhaps there already are.

(Thanks to Dave Gross at The Picket Line for the link!)

Entry filed under: Doing Freedom, Free Your Mind, Gulching, Living Free, Money & Economy, Outlawry.

Freedom meme Mute-ant

3 Comments Add your own

  • […] of home gardens and DIY stuff, I read Taran’s post highlighting Brad’s post (from McBlog) about frugalista gulching. After reading this […]

    Reply
  • 2. Michael Boone  |  May 7, 2008 at 1:27 pm

    What you have to do is get the fuck way from people with keyboards who opinionate on a grand scale, say some beautiful words about liberty, and go right on living the way they always have.

    These people will be in FEMA camps or have RIP on a marker over their little pointed heads.

    Get out of town. Get a place in the country where there are tres, preferably Hardwoods. Get a garden planted. Arm yourself and stock up on ammo. Get a system of water supply that will operate in a grid-down scenario.

    Take those you love out of town with you, but make sure you tell them it ain’t gonna be easy.

    Stock up on Rice and Beans and other non-perishables. And I aint talking 20 pounds, I am talking 200 pounds. Per person.

    Get your retreat someplace where the sound of your killing birds with your shotgun will not bother folks. Cook the Tweety Bird carcasses with your beans. It really helps your protein up-take.

    Read my blog. Go back through the archieves and get caught up. Post to me if you have problems with what I just told you.

    MIchael

    mboone@rtccom.net

    Reply
  • 3. Taran Jordan  |  May 7, 2008 at 4:15 pm

    Michael – I appreciate your thoughts and your visit here. I agree that endless talk, political if-onlying, and pie-in-the-sky analysis are of little to no use at this point in the game going on in the world. In fact, I’ve written about that before.

    But please don’t come in here as a total stranger telling me “what I have to do.” You don’t have a clue as to whether or not I’m already doing it. Perhaps I just don’t go shouting about it over the world wide web.

    Perhaps that’s – oh, I dunno – because I’m concerned about giving away easy info to those who’ll round up the FEMA camp inmates.

    Perhaps you’d have a clue on some of this if you’d bothered to read a little of the archives on THIS site.

    Good on ya for getting self-sufficient and for encouraging others to do so. Later.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed