Fiction frenzy

November 9, 2007 at 9:53 pm 7 comments

Hi, folks. 🙂 Just checking in to say that I’m still standing, and I’m thankful for you loyal readers.

I’m hard at work these next few weeks getting my entry ready for the Freedom in Fiction Prize contest, sponsored by the Mackinac Center. The deadline is January 1, 2008 for submission of two full chapters plus an overall outline of your novel. Finalists will be notified by March 31 and will then have one year to complete their manuscripts. Liberty Train will be in the running!

Any of you care to join the challenge too? Good freedom fiction is something desperately needed – and given the groundswell of support for Ron Paul lately, it’s probably also something with good market potential!

I’ll be around here when I can, but it probably won’t be much until after the first of the year. I’d post excerpts from the book for you, if I weren’t concerned about the “previously unpublished” rule in the contest guidelines. 😦 Maybe later…

Blessings and happiness – and freedom – to you all!

[UPDATE  1/1/2008: I will not be providing excerpts here from the novel, even though Justin Marshall gave the go-ahead from the contest’s perspective.  A seasoned fiction instructor advised me that if a novel writer seeks a contract with a big-name publishing house, then even excerpts from the novel on a blog are a no-no.  Sorry, y’all.]

Entry filed under: Free Your Mind, Writer's Life.

A matter of conscience Two bits of bad news for freedom outlaws

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. morrigan  |  November 10, 2007 at 8:50 am

    Good luck! I hope to see you among the finalists.

    Reply
  • 2. Justin Marshall  |  November 12, 2007 at 7:15 am

    As the project Manager, I can assure you that by publishing excerpts from your book on your blog that you will NOT be disqualified. Please let your readers in on what you’re doing if you feel like it. They are probably eager to read parts and support what you are doing.

    Best,

    Justin Marshall

    Reply
  • 3. Taran Jordan  |  November 12, 2007 at 8:39 am

    Morrigan, as always, thank you for your warm encouragement! I hope you’re finding time for your own writing lately. 🙂

    Justin, wow! Thank you for the reassurance, for seeing such a great contest through, and for dropping by TFO! 🙂

    Hmmm…now I’ll have to go look things over and decide on a couple of bits to share. I’m so glad I’ll be able to do so.

    Reply
  • 4. Brian N.  |  November 12, 2007 at 5:44 pm

    I wish you all the best, and hope that, win or lose, it turns out well for everyone. Good luck, miss.

    Reply
  • 5. Taran Jordan  |  November 13, 2007 at 3:31 pm

    Brian, thanks as always. You’ve been such a loyal supporter! How’s the great awakening going for you lately? 😉

    Reply
  • 6. Justin Marshall  |  November 14, 2007 at 9:34 am

    Taran,

    It’s my pleasure to encourage writer’s like yourself. A good book has the ability to change hearts, minds and change things for the better. Keep up the great work.

    Best,

    Justin

    Reply
  • 7. Behind the curtain « Writing (mostly)  |  February 12, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    […] advertised around on plenty of blogs, and I found three other people who talked about entering – Taran Jordan (who seems to have taken down his ‘I submitted it!’ entry), Daniel J. Davis, and, […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts