Enjoy your freedom, friend Claire Wolfe

September 22, 2007 at 10:03 pm 7 comments

After so many years of unique and eminently worthy contributions to the cause of freedom online, Claire Wolfe has closed her blog, shuttered the fictional and feisty town of Hardyville, and decided to wander down some new and different non-netly paths, as yet unspecified and unplanned.

In short, she’s walking off the edge of the cliff, trusting that she’ll sprout wings just when she needs them. She’s off to play the inner game.

And like so many freedom lovers she’s touched over the years, I’m going to miss her terribly.

Her inimitably Outlawish, twinkling, can-do, yet hard-hitting writing style. Her lovable, laughable, Hardy curmudgeons populating (and hotly defending) the last outpost of freedom, somewhere among the tumbleweeds. Her dear doggy devotions, and her determination in disseminating data of dastardly deeds done by dignitaries and desk-jockeys.

But more than anything else, what I’ll miss is the friendship and goodwill she extended.

It was over three years ago now that I arrived on The Claire Files, her discussion forum, as a longtime reader and (I admit!) starry-eyed fan, landed at last in a place I could feel was a home to me. I’ll always remember happily how welcoming Claire was to this newbie, how glad to talk with me as an equal, how encouraging of small personal efforts at self-sufficiency or independent thinking. She noticed what people were doing. She commented. She offered support and humor. She cared, truly and obviously, about the individuals who came into her corner of the world.

She never wanted to think of herself as the Famous Author, and perhaps she was as wise as she is humble. Most people may never know her name. But to a small and stalwart crowd, she will always be the Third Assistant Demi-Goddess of Freedom. As much as free people would ever want such a thing. But the point is that the free people who are attracted to Claire’s sense of life find a wonderful irony in bestowing such a title upon one of our heroines. It might be, along with an occasional, long-saved-up-for, excited purchase of one of her books, the most we can offer her. But it’s heartfelt, with warm appreciation and gratitude. And Claire herself knew this.

It’s very difficult to imagine the internet without new work by Claire Wolfe. I admit that I’m panting with curiosity to hear more about her thoughts on the spiritual aspects of freedom. Maybe she’ll share, maybe not – I respect either choice. Maybe this is the ideal chance to be pursuing similar thoughts on my own for now, whether or not we end up comparing notes later. Maybe this is the next move in the bigger game of living free. I happen to think that it is.

The best tribute I can offer to you, Claire, as you stride off whistling into the new worlds you’re bent on discovering, is that I’ve always felt you to be a true friend. A friend of freedom, without question. But even more wonderfully, and rarely, I’ve always felt you to be a friend to me and to the other good folks – the individuals – who happened into your sphere, you kind and decent and loving soul. It’s easy, somehow, to picture you around the campfire with Thunder and me, sharing a good toke and some good brew, laughing hysterically at the craziness of life. It’s equally easy to imagine you comforting one of us through a hard time, or organizing a potluck for some friend in need. You see, you’ve always been there for people.

And so, as much as we’ll miss your daily manna that has fed us for so long, I’m deeply glad that you’re bent on being there – anywhere – everywhere – for your own self. The best of adventures to you, lady! May your days be magnificent, memorable and many!

We shall miss you. Don’t forget to write. đŸ˜‰

Entry filed under: Big Picture, Doing Freedom, Free Your Mind, Gulching, Living Free, Outlawry, Privacy, Writer's Life.

Boy, flounce off and your blog stats skyrocket… Karen Kwiatkowski, Freedom Outlaw

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nedda  |  September 22, 2007 at 11:02 pm

    Hear, hear! Well said.

    I raise my glass to the Alpha Maddog…may the sun shine warmly on her path.

    Reply
  • 2. Karen  |  September 23, 2007 at 9:59 am

    Thanks for stating so eleguently what so many of us just can’t put into words. K

    Reply
  • 3. morrigan  |  September 23, 2007 at 10:04 am

    Wonderful post! Even though I am already missing her, I warmly wish her the best and hope she finds what she is looking for, where ever it may be.

    Thank you for so eloquently putting into words much of the same thoughts I have had.

    Reply
  • 4. Taran Jordan  |  September 23, 2007 at 10:30 am

    Thank you so much, ladies! It’s great to know that we have many of these thoughts and feelings in common.

    This blog entry just flew right off my fingers last night – I can’t explain it, but it felt wonderful to write like that. It wanted to be written. That’s got to be due to Claire’s special legacy, that reaching out to people, and it deserves the warmest appreciation.

    I gotta admit, I’m really curious to know where she’ll take freedom next!

    Reply
  • 5. A Nonny Mouse  |  September 27, 2007 at 10:47 pm

    I’ve been meaning to write a tribute to Claire on my own blog, but I guess I’m still in denial. Silly me thinks if I don’t say goodbye then I don’t have to admit she’s gone.

    I used to send a little donation each month and Claire always sent me a thank you, but it wasn’t just a thank you. She would always add some little personal comment. She even remembered that I was in the process of adopting a child and asked how it was going.

    I hope we hear from her again someday.

    Reply
  • 6. Been around  |  February 6, 2008 at 1:10 am

    I miss da blogs…even when you did not agree she made you think.

    Reply
  • 7. Bill Fargo  |  June 22, 2008 at 12:03 am

    Did the cat jump off the cliff, too?
    If not, it can come live in my van, if it will put up with me:-)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts