Boy, flounce off and your blog stats skyrocket…

September 18, 2007 at 1:00 pm 10 comments

I see that quite a few folks have stopped by here since I posted, yesterday, on the former Claire Files Forums (now The Mental Militia Forums) that I wouldn’t be spending time there anymore.

In fact, my stats for yesterday were over twice their normal day’s levels! Sheesh. Bad news travels fast, huh? I appreciate the interest, though.

Kinda makes me wonder what all these visitors were expecting to find here. A rant, or self-justification, or an explanation, or what? Since there’s only been a couple of new comments on old posts, it apparently wasn’t people coming by to wish me well.

I dunno. I don’t feel like I fit in anywhere on the net anymore. Guess I’m in a transition phase. I know there are good people out there, and a few have become friends. I’d like to create more good, lasting friendships with people for whom freedom is the biggest and greatest thing there is.

I have no wish to bash anyone. I’m tired of being bashed, and erroneously at that. I’m tired of the endless arguments and nitpicking and eye-for-an-eye, I’m-right-you’re-wrong-AND-an-idiot, he/she/they-started-it games. I’m tired of disrespect for the good, the decent, and the right, in people and in ideas.

What I want to find is civility, optimism, friendliness, real and intriguing discussion, and people who know – and live it – that freedom is a thing of the deepest spirit, made manifest in mind and matter. A love of life and all that’s possible in it. A wondrous outlook, a joyful attitude, a loving and generous and openminded approach to others.

I want magnificence, benevolence, excitement, and shining eyes. I want to be happy and to have happy people around me. I want endless discovery and growth of understanding, the kind of understanding that makes you gasp with the awesome, delectable implications.

Anyone know where on the internet to find all that?

Nah, I didn’t think so. Time to get back to writing my novel, I guess.

Entry filed under: Big Picture, Free Your Mind, Living Free, Writer's Life.

I got quoted on Wikipedia!!! Enjoy your freedom, friend Claire Wolfe

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. PintofStout  |  September 18, 2007 at 2:44 pm

    Well, I certainly hope you find those things we look for. I will be looking out for new stuff here, as always.

    Good luck on the novel!

    Reply
  • 2. Taran Jordan  |  September 18, 2007 at 10:38 pm

    Thanks, PoS, for your constancy and friendship as well as your comment. I’ll keep checking in at your digs too. 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. morrigan  |  September 19, 2007 at 8:32 am

    I have found that the joy, friends of like mind, peace and freedom are discovered in some of the most unusual places. And when you least expect it.
    I, also share the feeling of not fitting in, on the net or most anywhere else at the moment. Almost like some sort of transition phase for lack of a better explanation.
    That rainbow is getting closer, if I stretch just a bit I can almost touch it. So, face into the wind and leave the storm behind. 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. morrigan  |  September 19, 2007 at 8:46 am

    PS….I don’t think you flounced.
    Stating what you believe in a dignified manner without ranting or name calling could never be confused with a flounce.
    Just my humble opinion, YMMV.

    Reply
  • 5. Karen  |  September 19, 2007 at 6:28 pm

    Beautiful summary. And totally bewildering to me that so many folks don’t seem to have any interest in striving for those very qualities and experiences that you describe. Experience has just about sadly convinced me that a lot of people just aren’t happy with/within themselves and that leads to the old cliche that misery doesn’t love company – it creates it.
    Anyway, I can’t add a thing to your excellent thoughts. Just wanted to say hi and I’ll look forward to lots of written activity from you here. Sure will miss it at TCF/TMM tho. Good luck with the novel! K

    Reply
  • 6. Taran Jordan  |  September 19, 2007 at 8:25 pm

    Morrigan, thank you for all your opinions, always valued here. And you’re right, I didn’t flounce off. The phrase just has a catchy sound to it. 😉

    Karen/CH, I’m so pleased you stopped by, and that you’re a sister under the skin too. I’ll definitely keep in touch with you. 🙂 Keep ’em in line over there, won’tcha?

    Reply
  • 7. Junker  |  September 19, 2007 at 10:25 pm

    Was here, Am here.
    Regards, J

    Reply
  • 8. Nedda  |  September 20, 2007 at 11:13 pm

    I just stopped by to see what was new, and — what’s this? You’re FLOUNCING?

    lol.

    Is it just me or does it seem that the natural tendency of internet boards is to disintegrate into backbiting and name-calling? TCF has done pretty well considering.

    But I know what you mean. I kinda did the same thing a year or so ago, but lacked the words to explain what change had happened in me. I still visit now and again, but it’s not the be-all and end-all in my life as it seems to be for others. It has been a great weight off of my spirit, for some reason.

    Perhaps we outgrew that stage?

    Reply
  • 9. Taran Jordan  |  September 21, 2007 at 9:20 am

    Junker, thank you for your longtime support. I hope you’re doing better than ever. I wish you all good things as you move back into the mod chair on the forums.

    Nedda…another sister. 🙂 Yes, I agree that TCF did well, and I think Claire’s presence had much to do with that. When she was around, things were good and people were civil. When she needed to take time away, things seemed to tank, and rabble were emboldened. I suppose that was natural.

    I think TCF/TMM will go on for a time, maybe a long time, but it’s already changed in my eyes, and I’d rather remember it as it was. That’s okay. I spent something like 30 days online there in three years. Surely I can use those 10 days a year for something better calculated to bring about freedom, friendship and happiness. 🙂

    Reply
  • 10. F42  |  November 30, 2007 at 8:36 pm

    Well the pony express just arrived with the mail. Better late than never, huh?

    Flouncing? Now, that’s “shiney”. I can’t add any more than what the others have added. I quit a good year before y’all and don’t regret it.

    Freedom is me, not a internet site. I found the longer I stay away from this notebook the better I feel. Keeping busy, and all is well here.

    Say hey to boomer boy and take care.

    LOL F42

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts