Intermezzo

September 15, 2006 at 11:39 am 1 comment

I keep wanting very much to log in here and write a vast, beautiful, memorable paean to the spirit of freedom and outlawry. But somehow it just doesn’t get done. đŸ˜‰

There’s a very broad spectrum of ideas wafting lately through my brain, and somehow they’re all connected. But it’s all SO broad that I haven’t found the common threads quite yet. It all has to do with breaking through to freedom in every aspect of one’s life – physical, spiritual, political, emotional, intellectual – and how often it seems that people choose only one of these domains to express a passion and need for freedom. And even the expression often manifests in mere lip service, not action.

One thing I did want to post, though, is a link I included in today’s edition of Strike the Root. It’s a statue entitled “Self Made Man,” by Colorado sculptress Bobbie Carlyle. A magnificent male figure chisels his own image out of the stone. Click on the “Self Made Man” link in the page’s left-hand menu to see a front view. Fricking awesome. Ayn Rand would have fallen in love with this statue.

I think I’ll keep looking at him once or twice a day as I continue to sift through the many concepts that want to be brought together. In fact, I’m beginning to wonder what would be possible if a lot more people decided to strive for – and insist on – freedom of every kind, consistently and firmly. I think this statue holds an answer.

Entry filed under: Outlawry, Uncategorized, Writer's Life.

Yard sale lessons II – You really do meet all kinds… The vault

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. PintofStout  |  September 19, 2006 at 12:05 pm

    You’re working on the Super-String Theory of Philosophy and Everything, too? We’ll have to compare notes when I actually put some down.

    I wanted to drop you a line and say that based on perusing your blog and Roderick Long’s, both in the WordPress format, that I started one here, too. I haven’t put anything on it yet, and moving old content from my Yahoo 360 will be tedious. But it was looking at yours that convinced me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts