Tagged again…

August 18, 2006 at 10:52 am 5 comments

Well, I see that both Sunni Maravillosa and Morrigan have done the latest book meme. They didn’t actually tag me for it – no, they’re both such lovers of individual freedom that, instead, they gently invited anyone interested to participate as well. (Oh, and after I initially posted this, I saw that Lewlew had indeed tagged me! Thanks, Lewlew. 😉 )

I figured they were talking to me, like the other voices in my head, and I love talking about books, so what the hey. And I’m going to try to do this one without including any of the books I listed in my last book tag entry. Anyone who likes, please play along on your own blog!

One book that changed your life?

One by Richard Bach.

One book that you have read more than once?

Freedom Road by Harold Hough.

One book you would want on a desert island?

I really like Morrigan’s answer – a blank journal. But my first thought was, as Hawkeye Pierce said once, “The dictionary. It contains all the other books.”

One book that made you laugh?

Pippi Longstocking by Astrid Lindgren.

One book that made you cry?

The Celestine Prophecy by James Redfield. But it wasn’t crying from sadness.

One book you wish had been written?

The one I am writing, a historical novel, working title Liberty Rain. But then again I’m really enjoying the writing process and don’t want it to end too soon.

Also, If You Were My Kid: What I Wish Adults Had Explained to Me While I Was Growing Up.

One book that you wish had never been written?

She’s Come Undone by Wally Lamb. Utterly plotless and pointless. More precisely, this is a book I wish I’d never picked up.

One book you are currently reading?

Novelist’s Boot Camp: 101 Ways to Take Your Novel from Boring to Bestseller, by Todd A. Stone.

One book that you have been meaning to read?

All On Fire: William Lloyd Garrison and the Abolition of Slavery, by Henry Mayer.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized, Writer's Life.

The gulcher’s thought process Belated: Yard sale lessons

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. David  |  August 18, 2006 at 11:44 am

    Another great day as guest editor of Strike-the-Root!!! I especially enjoyed “Liberty, If you can Grasp It”. It is a point I have been trying to make to several people. That liberty is not where you live, but how you live. More important, …how you think. Some will never get it. I can only hope that my examples will at least tempt people to look for it.

    God Job, Lightning!!

    Reply
  • 2. Taran Jordan  |  August 18, 2006 at 4:48 pm

    Thanks, David! I hope you’ll find success too. I also know how long and involved the journey has been in my own case…which is slowly helping me to learn patience and tolerance with others.

    Reply
  • 3. Atlas Blogged  |  August 18, 2006 at 5:01 pm

    Book Tag Meme – Rammage…

    Book Tag Meme – Rammage…

    Reply
  • 4. Sunni  |  August 30, 2006 at 7:42 pm

    Mine is the calm, quiet voice that talks to you only occasionally.

    Just so you can tell it from the other ones.

    Reply
  • 5. A Book Meme « Murphy’s Bye-Laws  |  September 20, 2006 at 9:08 pm

    […] I saw this at Taran Jordan’s blog (a.k.a. Lightning) so I thought I’d try my hand at my first meme. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts