The bug’s biting

August 1, 2006 at 6:35 pm 2 comments

Funny to use that expression. The writing bug, that is. All of a sudden I’m on a roll with words. I love this feeling. It doesn’t come often, not out of the blue like this. Sometimes it can be coaxed, though, by sitting down at the computer and just doing the work for a while. I feel juiced, jazzed, alive with ideas and wanting to be fabulous.

It’s good. It’s very good.

Another activity that can get the juices flowing is breaking out the laptop while I’m traveling – in an airplane, on a train, even just in a cafe. And I love to write while I’m at the dealership getting my car serviced. What is it about writing al fresco that’s so compelling? It must be the stimulating new environment, fresh and interesting each time. And I think also a dash of feeling like a real writer when others can see me actually doing the writing.

Dangit, though, why’d the bug have to bite now, when I’ve got a million other things I need to do? A yard sale to organize and carry out, same thing with a move to a new place, my last week at the old job and all the attendant loose-end-tying, and still a few renovation tasks to complete at the house before settlement.

Oh well – I love the bug and I ain’t gonna let it go away hungry. I’ve done that too many times before. I’d much rather life bring unexpected things that I love, no matter how inconvenient they might seem in the moment!

I mean, what on earth do I think I’m doing???  The creative and motivational fluids are flowing at the same time, and I even consider COMPLAINING about it???  No writer this side of insane or lazy would do such a silly thing!!!

Sheesh.  Sometimes I really do need a whack on the side of the head.  Okay, enough of this – go write, girl!

Entry filed under: Writer's Life.

A teeny-weeny monkeywrench… Cool discussion

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. David  |  August 3, 2006 at 8:50 am

    On my last job, I spent a lot of time on the road. I got a microcassette recorder, and later a digital voice recorder, so that I could record things I was thinking about while driving. This allowed me to recall things more clearly later to do follow-up research or to write about.

    “Go write, girl!!!” 😉

    I am looking forward to it.

    Reply
  • 2. Taran Jordan  |  August 4, 2006 at 10:26 am

    😉 Teehee. Me too. Good idea on the microcassette – I’ve been thinking about getting one of those.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts