Thoughts on Economic “Inevitability”

May 18, 2006 at 10:35 pm 2 comments

I just found this wonderful old article by one of my oddball heroes, Gene Logsdon – also known as The Contrary Farmer.

Just this morning I heard a nationally renowned agricultural economist on the radio make a prediction that I have a hunch will embarrass him greatly if he lives long enough. (Perhaps all our attempts at predicting the future would embarrass us if we lived long enough.) He said that an agriculture of huge grain farms and huge animal factories was "inevitable." He did not state that observation as his opinion, but as a fact that sentimental old fools like me had better get used to. He also seemed to think that inevitable carried with it the notion of forever.

Logsdon writes a lot about the fields of home. He himself wandered out into the wide world for decades before returning to the place of his boyhood to farm. And this piece vibrates with the resulting warmth, and uncanny, slightly surprising wisdom I always associate with him.

Thanks, Mr. Logsdon.

Entry filed under: Gulching.

Brits to be Forced to Hand Over Encryption Keys Hell’s bells…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gene Logsdon  |  July 8, 2007 at 11:32 am

    Hey, freedom outlaw, thanks for the nice words. I am just now learning how to drive the superhighway without running into the ditch. I am just finding all this nice and sometimes not so nice stuff about me. Freedom Outlaw is a good naem. I always thought of myself as a freedom renegade. Even had a boat (a row boat) which I called (painted on) “Renegade.” And calling me “oddball”— you got that right. If you need any further proof, read my new novel Lords of Folly about the fantasyland of a Catholic seminary, not quite as I lived it, but not unlike it either. .

    Reply
  • 2. Taran Jordan  |  July 8, 2007 at 8:05 pm

    Oooh, ooh, OOOHHHH!!! WOWSERS!!! I got a comment from my hero!!! Pinch me! I can’t believe it! 😀

    Mr. Logsdon, thank you so much for stopping by and for leaving such a nice calling card. If anyone fits the label of “Freedom Outlaw,” you do – of a unique, cheerful, can-do, wonderful sort.

    But the thanks go to Claire Wolfe, who came up with the name and concept in The Freedom Outlaw’s Handbook. It’s also thanks to her that the term “gulching,” i.e. purposeful, self-sufficient homesteading in support of a free life, helped me define my own purposes and goals for a sustainably free future.

    Your new novel sounds like a hoot – I’ll certainly put it on my list. Hope you’re having a blast standing up on your netly surfboard!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts