A temporary farewell

December 4, 2005 at 5:48 pm 3 comments

A friend of mine, a ubiquitous activist in the Libertarian Party, warned me once that a person can have only three main concerns going in life at any one time, if he or she is to be effective. Work, and family – relationship – home life, are two for most people.

That leaves just one opening.

I hate to admit it, but I know I’m not being effective lately, because I run in too many different directions. I have a novel in progress about Freedom Outlaws, that should be much further along by now than it is – but I use other responsibilities, and sheer laziness, and health issues, as excuses to avoid getting deeply involved in the writing of it. And yet, successfully completing this novel is my greatest goal.

So I feel the need to whittle down to bare bones, in a kind of Zen yearning for simplicity. Hell, I know it’s never that cut-and-dried. Besides my paid work and my relationship with Thunder, I’ve got (endless in both cases!) fitness and home-improvement tasks that I intend to get done. Perhaps I’ll have to go with five concerns rather than three.

Even so, with the novel being the fifth, there just isn’t room for this blog as a regular pursuit. Instead, I need to take this Outlaw spirit and infuse my novel with it.

I’ve been thinking about this decision for a month or more. Especially because the kind of writing I do here isn’t usually quickie off-the-cuff commentary on current events. It’s demanding of thought and time – both of which are needed in other areas for the time being.

I can’t see closing down this blog yet, and I imagine I’ll occasionally find my mental cup running over with some Outlawish froth that must and will be spewed forth to the world (or the few inhabitants of it who might actually see these words).

But for now, I am taking a break from blogging. My thanks to you loyal and supportive fellow and sister Outlaws who’ve been here from the beginning a year ago, and I know I’ll be seeing you out there somewhere, soon.

Love,
Taran/Lightning

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Two morsels of food for thought Security outlaws – wave of the future?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lewlew  |  December 5, 2005 at 5:20 pm

    Godspeed and Blessings in your pursuits. We’ll look forward to the time when you can post again.

    Reply
  • 2. Anonymous  |  December 17, 2005 at 10:04 pm

    Good luck and know you are respected. You’re sure to come back stronger than ever. You may not know me, but let us say that a certain person without any structure sends along his best wishes as well.

    RayRay

    Reply
  • 3. Taran Jordan (Lightning)  |  December 18, 2005 at 10:29 pm

    Thanks very much, both of you. 🙂

    RayRay, please tell our mutual friend that I wish him well too – and I wish to heck I could understand the messages he was sending me there for a while.–>

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts