Unavoidable delays…

September 25, 2005 at 4:04 pm 2 comments

Well, the “real world” and my “real” job have intervened in my schedule for weeks now, and I’m pining to get back to long stretches of novel writing. After this week is over…really! I promise! I’ll go nuts if I can’t get writing again!

In the meantime, for anyone interested, here’s a link to my nonfiction blog, The Freedom Outlaw. I’m headed to a writer’s conference this coming weekend, and who knows? Maybe the editors and agents due to appear there will want to see a little of my work.

Until I can get my life back into AVOIDABLE delay mode, that is…and get some more done on the novel that won’t go away. I’m damned glad it won’t. Do you writers out there have the same experience – a story that won’t let you get away until you get it down on paper or disk? I’ve never known this before, and wonder if it’s part of the writing life.

Oh…and I’ve got some great new inspiration from a visit I was able to make recently to a safe house from the Underground Railroad days. You could just sense the hope and fear still hovering about the ramshackle frame house. Awesome. It’s going to show up in the book, I know that much.

See y’all soon – maybe in a conference room full of other writers?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Sovereignty’s only for the in-crowd Aunt Agatha was right…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anonymous  |  October 5, 2005 at 11:10 pm

    good luck, lightning…

    i too have story ideas that won’t go away, i’m just not a very good writer. so i’ve signed up with a local writer’s group. maybe you could find one in your area?

    i look forward to hearing about your book, please keep us updated..

    Reply
  • 2. Taran Jordan (Lightning)  |  October 6, 2005 at 10:26 pm

    Thanks for your comment! Great idea. I’m definitely going to be doing just that – see my Oct. 6 post above.

    And good luck with your own creative process. A wonderful book for you is If You Want to Write by Brenda Ueland. Also, check out Writing Down the Bones and Writer’s Mind by Natalie Goldberg. Fun stuff – and these women are right: everyone has something unique to express!–>

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts